Hey friends! Long time no see! I apologize for not writing anything for quite a while, I just finished up my last few months in Lincoln, Illinois and I am now the proud owner of a Master of Arts Degree in Intercultural Studies! *Cue the music* Still though, I apologize for not keeping a regular schedule of posting.

Seriously though, working through that degree caused more than my fair share of gray hair and I was quite ready to be finished with it. Now though, I am able to finally settle down for the summer and rest while I prepare for this next endeavor (hint, the next country I am going to is known for a certain high functioning sociopath and a Doctor who keeps getting himself into trouble with wibbly wobbly timey wimey things). For now though, I am happy to be back in the Pacific Northwest and to rest.

 

I just got back here last Tuesday and it has caused me to think about the last few years of life. Because of this I have come to a conclusion: Every place leaves a mark on who you are. Think back through the places you have lived. Do you have a list? Whether you loved it or hated it those places have shaped who you are as a person. For those who travel, you are exposed to a plethora of worldviews, communities, and lifestyles that contradict what you have come to know and love. Here is a perfect 18742215_10213293538602325_1543996359_o.jpgexample, have you ever heard of a horseshoe? Well for a brief overview, a horseshoe is an open-faced sandwich comprised of Texas Toast, a meat of your choice (buffalo chicken is the best), french fries, and a cheese sauce. I made it a year and a half in Illinois without eating this meal…I still don’t know how I feel about putting my body through that endeavor…twice. So besides an expanding waistline, what else did Illinois leave with me? At the end of the day, Illinois shaped me through a lot of trial and error to be a more kind and compassionate person but it also taught me to make sure that I love myself (you can’t love others if you don’t love yourself). Here is to the next few places I live and to the lessons they have to teach me.

What lessons have you learned from the places you have lived in? Some of you have stayed in one place your whole life, what do those places have to teach you about being human? Some places hurt us deeply and other places heal us and help us to become more whole. Each and every place though is important, because it forces us to choose what kind of people we are going to be.

Leave a Reply

