Today is a fairly short one (school has a way of distracting one from the things they enjoy) but I need to be reminded of it.

I am not good at staying still. I enjoy being active, being engaged in the world around me, and always on the go. Why is that? Perhaps I have some need to control the world around me and if I keep moving, I won’t realize that it has progressed for millions of years and will continue to progress long after I am gone. Maybe I spend so much time chasing after the things that make me happy that I do not let God speak in the quietness of the early morning because I am so eager to pursue the day and the challenges that it presents. I am continually being reminded of Jesus saying, “Come to me, you who are weary and I will give you rest.”

Let us take some time to be still and rest during these chaotic days. Be vigilant, work hard, but take some time to care for yourself.

Leave a Reply

