Today is a happier post but a thought provoking one I hope.

Have you ever been in a history class that has just bored you to tears? Luckily I have only had one or two of those in my life. But I love history, ever since I was a little kid I would read everything I could about history. My favorite game was Age of Empires II and Civilization III. I would just read or play everything I could on it. How on earth have we gotten to the point where we find history boring? Through history we read about men and women who tried and failed, some who tried and succeeded, some were good, some were bad, and most were a mix of the in between.

We are a part of history whether we want to be or not. There is a quote by Shakespeare that I love “All the world is a stage, and all the men and women merely players. They have their egoing-out-your-doorxits and their entrances and one man in his time plays many parts. I know that history is not everyone’s favorite subject but I think we should respect it. We should engage with our ancestors and learn from them, their victories and mistakes. For example we learn of the horrors of slavery but the victory of William Wilberforce in banning it in England, Abraham Lincoln and the Emancipation Proclamation, and Martin Luther King Jr. in the Civil Rights.

History is bloody, ugly, and downright cruel at times, but I think that a major error on our parts would be to ignore the implications that history has on our daily lives. I ask you to ignore memorizing dates and facts and figures for that is not history. No history is the story of men and women from the beginning of time as we strive and struggle to make our own place in this universe. Start with mythologies from Ancient Greece or Norway (I would recommend the Myths and Legends podcast that guy is fantastic), or maybe historical fiction (G.A. Henty has some excellent books), or just play a game of Age of Empires and read about the conquests and advancements  in the game’s info section. But for the love of all that is holy engage the world around you and the past that is behind you. I think you might find someone in history who you might relate to pretty well.

Leave a Reply

