Recently I have been watching the Animaniacs on Netflix (one of their best ideas besides Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt and Daredevil). Tonight though I relate deeply to one of their philosophical songs.

 

Today I felt incredibly tiny. I see where I am, where I have been, and have a vague possibility of an idea of where I might one day be going. I do not know how people deal with it; for me it is absolutely paralyzing to the point that I have to go sit somewhere and just listen to music or sit outside reminding myself that it isn’t over yet. While I do not love those moments, I think they’re valuable for us. It reminds us that there is more to come and that God still has something both incredibly exciting and terrifying. But, let’s be honest, a year ago I was preparing to leave people I love to meet new people to love and grow close to. I suppose that’s life: do not let the existential crisis set in, meet new people (or not, you do you boo), and let God work through the fact that we are small. It’s a great big universe and we’re all really puny. We’re just tiny little specks about the size of Mickey Rooney. It’s a great big universe and we’re not. I am becoming more and more okay with that as time continues.

Leave a Reply

